When Alexandra Mitchell, the owner and principal fine art conservator at ACT Art Conservation, learned that the Cliff House’s art works and memorabilia were slated to be auctioned off in mid-March, she knew something had to be done.
This picture from photographer A.J. McDonald shows the view looking north from the roof of the first Cliff House towards Cliff Cottage and Point Lobos, circa 1880s. The Cliff Cottage was badly damaged when the schooner Parallel exploded in January 1887, and this site went on to become home to the Sutro Baths. Photo courtesy of a private collector/Western Neighborhoods Project/OpenSFHistory.
The Cliff House, one of San Francisco’s iconic and enduring landmarks and eateries, closed on Dec. 31.
A series of restaurant closures in the Outer Richmond District has left the northwestern edge of San Francisco without several of its beloved dining spots.
On Sept. 5, the Cliff House continued the 42-year-old tradition with a private reception and luncheon in the Terrace Room that features the same sweeping view of part of the Coast Guard’s territory; the Pacific Ocean and Seal Rock, the scene of the rescue over four decades ago.