The “Chinese in the Richmond” initiative, first launched in 2019, is a companion to the CHSA’s “Chinese in the Sunset” project. Together with the Sunset project, the family photos, school garments, awards, business documents and first-person stories brought in by the Richmond’s Chinese residents, will help weave together the narrative of how the west side’s vibrant Chinese community came to be.
This Open House will be from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, April 24, in real life at the WNP office at 1617 Balboa St.
Efforts are underway to give landmark status to one of San Francisco’s hidden jewels in a location that has featured predominantly in the City’s history for more than a hundred years.
WNP wants its Board of Directors to better reflect the community, including folks from different backgrounds and with different perspectives. This is what gives San Francisco its unique identity and will advance the group’s community history work beyond the past and into a new decade.
In honor of their new discounted student membership (just $30 a year!) launching in 2021, Western Neighborhoods Project (WNP) and the Richmond Review / Sunset Beacon have teamed up for a contest.
Three history-loving teen writers will be awarded the 2020 Fracchia Prize by San Francisco Mayor London N. Breed and the Golden Gate Park walking tours they designed will be made available to the public for free.
In April 1919, the San Francisco Board of Education passed a resolution to name the first school slated for construction after the signing of the Armistice in honor of the San Franciscans who served. The thoroughly modern Argonne School was built quickly by the Board of Public Works.
In 1866, what we now call the Richmond District was incorporated into the City of San Francisco. Known as the “outside lands,” it was a lonely area of drifting sand dunes and sagebrush, a blank area on county maps with Mountain Lake as the sole identifiable feature.
The genesis of the land for this playground comes as a by-product of the West Portal rail station (now Muni), which opened on Feb. 3, 1918 as the western terminus of the Twin Peaks Tunnel.
Long before children soared in the swings of the West Sunset Playground, an 1868 city map showed the San Francisco’s west portion known as the Outside Lands with numerous lots reserved for public purposes such as parks and school buildings. Only two plots were reserved for parks in the Sunset District; what became McCoppin and Parkside Squares. The rest were purchased over time.
When visitors stroll around the Golden Gate Park Concourse, containing the de Young Museum, Japanese Tea Garden, California Academy of Sciences and the Spreckels Temple of Music (better known as “the Bandshell”), they might be surprised to learn that all of it was once part of a Midwinter International Exposition 125 years ago.
Creation of this small park at 420 Seventh Ave. in the Richmond District was before the era of the official mini-park, a federally subsidized program initiated in San Francisco in 1968, and creating it was a complicated business as it was a public-private project, a virtually unknown notion at the time but common today.
OVER 90,000 HISTORIC PROPERTY PHOTOS NOW ACCESSIBLE TO THE PUBLIC THROUGH SAN FRANCISCO PUBLIC LIBRARY In 2018 the San Francisco Assessor’s Office launched an initiative to preserve and make publicly available over […]
Growing up right across the street from Abraham Lincoln High School, Ungaretti did not really know all of the intricate details of the area until she began doing research and talking to people.
A link to photo of a 42′ by 38′ detailed wooden replica of the city of San Francisco as it was in 1940 in 158 pieces at a scale of 1 inch to 100 feet.